Medicine at its worst

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hey all. I am about to start medical school and aspiring to be a surgeon. Well anyway, I just read this, a friend sent it too me. He says hes seen similar things when watching actual doctors in practice.

Reading this is seriously depressing. Please please please please please tell me this is not how it actually is, please.

http://www.upalumni.org/medschool/surgery.html

Members don't see this ad.

Hi there,
I was a General Surgery intern before the 80-hour work week. I was busy but I enjoyed all of the learning. I was not sick, depressed or anything other than busy. There were lots of cases to do in OR, people to take care of on the floor and conferences.

If you are not prepared to work hard, then choose something other than surgery. Do realize that no matter how wonderful your residency, you still have to get the work done. There is nothing horrible about this. I would rather do a 10-hour case in the OR than stand around in rounds for 2 hours like my medicine colleagues.
njbmd :)

This is a rather infamous, and old document. I recall reading it before I was in medical school (and I'm a PGY 5 now). As njbmd notes, we and the writer experienced surgery before the 80 hr workweek...but regardless of the hours, if you don't like what you're doing, 80 hrs a week will seem painful as well.

Members don't see this ad :)
I don't have the time to go through the whole thing, but the writer strikes me as a typical whiny med student.

doc05 said:
I don't have the time to go through the whole thing, but the writer strikes me as a typical whiny med student.

bingo. if you look higher up in the directory you'll note that he bashes every specialty with equal fervor and delusional self-righteousness. but i'm sure he paid back all his student loans with that maudlin tripe disguised as a genuine and fair representation of the medical profession. :rolleyes: