Mental Health Red Flags?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

RedFlagThrowAway

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
My teenage/young adult years are riddled with problems due to my past alcohol abuse. While I have no charges, I've been arrested three times. One arrest could expunged, the other arrest was a temporary detention order and the third was drunk in public/resisting arrest. The arrest I worry about disclosing the most is the TDO, because I was drunk on a bridge and was thought to be suicidal. During this incident I was taken to be evaluated in a psychiatric hospital, I was not involuntary commented and was allowed to discharge myself.

I feel confident that I've overcome my drinking problem, though abstaining from drinking and having worked with a therapist. I'm a strong student (Sophomore 4.0 GPA, government internship, EMT, clinical employment, building ECs). I have a strong desire to presue medicine but worry that if/when my GPA drops (I'm a non-trad who switched majors), MCAT is average or just beginning to struggle with other aspects of my application, these arrests and ugly explanations with kill my application.

Above all, I'm worried that if accepted, these arrests will haunt me when matching and applying for board certification.

I'd just like some guidance and feed back onto how to prepare to deal and explain about these arrests. I'm hoping that my actions will speak for me but understand how important verbalizing is in interview/application.

Members don't see this ad.

The fact that you've never been convicted or even charged will definitely work in your favor. Beyond that maybe some adcoms can offer guidance on the specifics.

Reactions: 2 users