Messed up my first crown preparation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DentistBeast

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello everyone, how are you? I'm currently a dental student and something embarrassing happened today. I was working on my first ever crown patient and I messed it up pretty bad. I over-reduced the tooth from the first surface I worked on (the labial surface) without even barely getting a chance to actually work... It was humiliating and a lot of people saw it as well. The T.A was able to save it (barely, we're still waiting to see if it's going to need endo work) but I feel pretty upset and depressed about it since I had high hopes for my first tooth. I was wondering if something like this happened to anyone else and I was wondering if someone could answer this question honestly... Does this mean that Dentistry or even crown in particular is just not for me? I would appreciate honest answers. Thanks again!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello everyone, how are you? I'm currently a dental student and something embarrassing happened today. I was working on my first ever crown patient and I messed it up pretty bad. I over-reduced the tooth from the first surface I worked on (the labial surface) without even barely getting a chance to actually work... It was humiliating and a lot of people saw it as well. The T.A was able to save it (barely, we're still waiting to see if it's going to need endo work) but I feel pretty upset and depressed about it since I had high hopes for my first tooth. I was wondering if something like this happened to anyone else and I was wondering if someone could answer this question honestly... Does this mean that Dentistry or even crown in particular is just not for me? I would appreciate honest answers. Thanks again!