Micro Q: Staph species

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GellaBella

Penn Vet V'14
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm trying to help the vet hospital I shadow at become competent at identifying MRSA in an infected patient. So far we've got the methicillin-resistant part taken care of.

What we really need is a way to distinguish between the different species of Staph. Now I'm a PhD student in Micro, but most of my micro books are related to human medicine, so they deal almost exclusively with S. aureus and S. epidermidis.

What I would love to know are what are the other common Staph species that infect dogs/cats etc. (it's exclusively small animal).

So far I've found (via google):

S. dermatitis, S. intermedius, and S. hyicus (although this looks to be almost exclusively for pigs?)

We don't want to have to do a coagulase test (if we can avoid it, besides it looks like S. intermedius is coagulase + along with S. aureus).

I was thinking maybe hemolysis on blood agar plates might be indicative along with mannitol salt fermentation?

I know S. aureus is beta-hemolytic and a mannitol salt fermenter.

Do you guys know of any other Staph species we could frequently encounter in a small animal hospital and whether they are alpha/beta/non-hemolytic and fermenters of mannitol salts?

it's probably a long shot. I'm just having trouble finding things on google and in my books.

Members don't see this ad.

The most common bacteria is staph pseudintermedius. You can also find Staph schleiferi. I am not sure of their hemolytic abilities.

Good luck.

Hmmm, S. aureus (subspecies aureus), S. felis (coag negative. See http://ijs.sgmjournals.org/cgi/reprint/39/4/373 ), S. schleiferi (subspecies schleiferi or subspecies coagulans) . . .