military nurses driving me crazy

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

whathaveIdone

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
This is a ranting post. I guess I'm looking for folks to commiserate with me just to make me feel better. I'm a flight surgeon at your local MTF and the active duty nurse contingent is driving me crazy with their incompetence, their arrogance and just simple disrespect. The nurses, both male and female, are put in positions of power. Incompetence and authority is the worse combination.

Yes, I'm "only" an O-3 but I am a physician. Not that being a physician entitles me to unconditional respect and admiration, but it does entitle me to the same professional courtesy due to any adult in a professional workplace.

Where do these 0-4, O-5, and O-6 nurses get off treating physicians like crap? Only in the military would this kind of behavior be tolerated. Can you imagine a nurse in the civilian setting telling a CT surgeon that they should wait for all the other nurses and techs to get their fill of pharm rep food before the doc can get any? Unbelievable!

Of course, since it is the military, there's nothing I can do since RANK is above all else. This perverted system could only thrive in the military which is why docs get out as soon as possible leaving behind incompetent, power hungry nurses to continue the cycle. Never mind, line commanders calling and emailing on a daily basis trying to influence your decisions so they can get their troops back to work. The medical corps would be much better off without rank. It has it's own inherent rank structure as it does in the civilian world: senior attendings, junior attendings residents, nurses, med students, techs, etc. That is all. Anyone have similar experiences? Any suggestions on how to get through the next couple years? I have 19 months to go and have had it.

Members don't see this ad.

Welcome to the suck.