Angela_yh

2+ Year Member
Jul 14, 2016
Hello!

I am currently a 4th year student studying in Canada. I've sent in my application to OptomCAS recently and my stats are pretty good. However, I have next to no optometry related experience. I have not volunteered for an optometrist before and do not have much exposure to the field other than my own research and shadowing on a few occasions. Do you think this will hurt my chances a lot?

I got 400TS and 380AA on the OAT and am applying with a 3.81 GPA. My extracurriculars are good- I've held exec positions in two clubs, am currently co-pres, have research experience, as well as many other volunteering experiences. I've applied to ICO, NECO, and SALUS. What are my chances of getting an interview with my limited optometry background?

Thanks in advance!

May 24, 2017
Status
Pre-Optometry
You obviously have great stats so I imagine you will get interviews. I would suggest start shadowing now, so that by the time you have an interview you can speak to why you want to be an optometrist based on your own experience. It is important to have some sort of experience with optometry so that your interviewers know that you know what this career is like and that it's also the career that you want. If you've barely shadowed/worked, it's not easy to convince someone that you love the profession.

Optoman24

2+ Year Member
Dec 15, 2016
Status
Pre-Optometry