Minimum and Avg. Step 1 Scores?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

surfdevl02

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys-

I'm new to this. Just got my Step I board scores today and have no clue what it really means...is there generally a minimum cut-off score for Step 1 to get into Anesthesiology and also, does anyone know the avg score of accepted applicants that apply for an Anesthesiology residency? Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

surfdevl02 said:
Hey guys-

I'm new to this. Just got my Step I board scores today and have no clue what it really means...is there generally a minimum cut-off score for Step 1 to get into Anesthesiology and also, does anyone know the avg score of accepted applicants that apply for an Anesthesiology residency? Thanks!

CHeck the faq bout' scores.

If you have >215 and a decent app (letters, rotations, clinicals, no glaring holes/red flags) you should be in pretty good shape....just my take.

VentdependenT said:
CHeck the faq bout' scores.

While I agree those guidelines were useful for us the past few years it seems there has also been an increase in the number of applicants. Just from surveying the med students on my service the general concensus is a larger than usual group applying for anesth. While I know n=1 medical school and the overwhelming p value of my study is impressive perhaps there may be a gradual shift upwards in the Step I scores as more people apply. Just a thought.

Members don't see this ad :)
surfdevl02 said:
Hey guys-