miserable in vet school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

friendofdobby

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a second year student in the US and am dreading going back to school for the spring semester. You name it, it bothers me--the endless classes and studying, tests that never end, the horrible people in my class, professor A is being condescending, professor B doesn't respond to emails, the people in my groups... Last semester, I dreaded going to school everyday. There was a prevet club meeting at the vet school and I wanted to tell them to get out while they still could. Friends, family, acquaintances ask how school is going and I want to tell them it's sucking out my soul. I'm not planning on quitting, but does anyone have any suggestions for dealing with all of this?

Last semester, I was doing okay grade wise before finals but my grades dropped in all but one or two of my classes. My lowest grade was a C (my semester grade goal was nothing below a C) but the number of Cs I had was discouraging. I don't deal with stress well and by the end of finals, I was barely hanging on. The time I studied per test decreased with each final--I couldn't seem to make myself study adequately for the last 2.

I'm not a social person by any stretch of the imagination and have had trouble making friends. Anytime I seem to be getting somewhere, it falters out and I'm left back where I started. I've joined some clubs and things but that doesn't seem to be helping.

Finally, I have no idea what to do this summer. I don't have the gpa or references to do anything competitive and I'd like to work on my clinical skills and make some money. I wanted to shadow over winter break but my calls were not returned.

Does anyone else feel like this? Any suggestions on keeping motivated or dealing with stress?

Members don't see this ad.

Sorry to hear you're having such an awful time :(