Missing Gen Chem Lab?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

gouldie

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone!

I just realized that my college only offered one semester of chemistry laboratory. I graduated in 2017 and am now applying and realizing that most colleges ask for a year of chemistry plus lab.

Here is what I took:
Introductory Chemistry Laboratory (1 credit hour) along Gen Chem
General Chemistry Laboratory (2 credits hours) alongside Orgo
Organic Chemistry Laboratory (2 credit hours) alongside Orgo II

My question is: am I missing a lab? Since I took 5 credit hours of chem lab overall, can the general chemistry lab credit hours count for both? Or should I take a lab at a CC this fall?

Thanks everyone!

Members don't see this ad.

Did you not take general chemistry 2? It's usually a 2 part series. My school does offer a single semester general chemistry at a lower level but the one medical schools will expect me to take is the full-year two-part series of gen chem 1 & 2, with labs. Organic 1& 2 should also come with orgo labs 1 & 2. Did you only take 1 semester of organic chem lab?

Also, I wouldn't take any pre-requisites at a community college.

Last edited:
Did you not take general chemistry 2? It's usually a 2 part series. My school does offer a single semester general chemistry at a lower level but the one medical schools will expect me to take is the full-year two-part series of gen chem 1 & 2, with labs. Organic 1& 2 should also come with orgo labs 1 & 2. Did you only take 1 semester of organic chem lab?

Also, I wouldn't take any pre-requisites at a community college.

My college (a small liberal arts college) has a somewhat bizarre system:

I took Gen Chem 1&2, and only took one lab (1 credit hour) concurrently with Gen Chem 2, because my school only allowed one.