Modafinil and Psychosis

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Pharmavixen

foxy pharmacist
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I don't want her to find this.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I haven't heard of it, but I'm no expert. Is she taking any other medications? Just looking for alternate explanations.

Just OCs and mirtazepine, though there's the possibility that in the lead-up to this episode, she took ciprofloxacin and fluconazole, both inhibitors of CYP 3A4, of which modafinil is a minor substrate.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
This is a great question... for a psychiatrist. No offense, but you're not qualified to address this. When you're a hammer, everything looks like a nail. Since you're a pharmacist, you think it may be a medication side effect. If you were a DEA agent, you'd think she was secretly using meth. If you were a chemist, you'd think she was exposed to some harmful chemicals at work. And so on. Only a psychiatrist is qualified enough to truly assess her.

Just OCs and mirtazepine, though there's the possibility that in the lead-up to this episode, she took ciprofloxacin and fluconazole, both inhibitors of CYP 3A4, of which modafinil is a minor substrate.

Psychosis from OC induced cerebral blood clot is about as likely as modafinil causing psychosis after several years of use. TheThorn is right, they need a more in-depth workup, but pharmaceuticals aren't the worst place to start.

-- zelman

This is a great question... for a psychiatrist.

Well, obviously. The struggle here is getting a highly paranoid person into treatment. Who thinks she needs the drug to maintain a high level of vigilance in order to ensure her safety. Her psychiatrist has seen her since I first posted this, but the Mental Health Act is specific about when you can force someone into treatment.

No offense, but you're not qualified to address this.