Monstrous student loan debt...and my plan to pay it all back

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

blissfulmarmot

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Alright guys, first off i'm very glad I found this forum. I've been over at some nursing forums but wanted to get a wider audience and folks who've dealt with more debt related issues (six-figure debt, to be exact) that could give me more relatable feedback.

So, short story long, I graduated with a Bio degree and eventually went into nursing. My GPA was very "meh", but finally I was accepted at a good accelerated BSN school, though the tuition was steep. Anyway, I was able to accumulate $115k at both schools and am now working F/T as a nurse making around 64-65k a year. I'm a single guy, 29 y/o with no s/o or children, so that makes it easier.

My student loan payments altogether are roughly $1,300 a month for the next 10 years. Ouch. However, I live really, really cheap--like ramen noodles, no cable, take the tram to work, car is paid for etc. to cut costs. I'm trying to devote $30k a year to this debt and 2017 will be my first year trying it. If I can do this for 2-3 years, my standard of living will definitely improve--suffice to say. And yes, it's a tall order, so i'll have to actually see if I can do it first.