Moonlighting for FM residents? where to look?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Leonardsean

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been looking for Moonlighting opportunities without much success. I'm a 3rd year FM resident. I have an independent license in PA, my own DEA license with Buprenorphine waiver, but am having no luck.

Local Urgent cares want board eligible residency grads. or full time.

Local suboxone clinics that have offered moonlighting opportunities are having trouble credentialling me, as the insurance companies won't reimburse for non-graduate, non-board eligible physicians...

Local ER's that have hired FM residents in the past for midlevel shifts are drying up...

Meanwhile as expenses climb and resident compensation remains stable (at 1/2 of what midlevels make per year, for doing the same job while we work twice the number of hours per week with a much larger loan burden), it's getting impossible to make ends meet...

Thanks,

--Sean

Members don't see this ad.

I've been looking for Moonlighting opportunities without much success. I'm a 3rd year FM resident. I have an independent license in PA, my own DEA license with Buprenorphine waiver, but am having no luck.

Local Urgent cares want board eligible residency grads. or full time.

Local suboxone clinics that have offered moonlighting opportunities are having trouble credentialling me, as the insurance companies won't reimburse for non-graduate, non-board eligible physicians...

Local ER's that have hired FM residents in the past for midlevel shifts are drying up...

Meanwhile as expenses climb and resident compensation remains stable (at 1/2 of what midlevels make per year, for doing the same job while we work twice the number of hours per week with a much larger loan burden), it's getting impossible to make ends meet...

Thanks,

--Sean