General Admissions & OTCAS MOT or OTD? Confused!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

NSS121

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a pre-OT student currently at Creighton, and I was wondering if I should go for the MOT or OTD. I've been told that the profession will be phasing into the OTD in 7-10 years. Is this true? I just want to be an OT, not teach it. Would it be worth the money to get a doctorate for job security reasons?
Thanks!!:)

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a pre-OT student currently at Creighton, and I was wondering if I should go for the MOT or OTD. I've been told that the profession will be phasing into the OTD in 7-10 years. Is this true? I just want to be an OT, not be teach it. Would it be worth the money to get a doctorate for job security reasons?
When I was doing my observation hours I asked the occupational therapists about MOT or OTD and they said it doesn't matter you won't get paid more……its probably something good to have but OT use to be an bachelors degree. I know occupational therapist who have a bachelors degree in OT and they were grandfathered in……so I guess it doesn't matter……I don't know…..

I am a pre-OT student currently at Creighton, and I was wondering if I should go for the MOT or OTD. I've been told that the profession will be phasing into the OTD in 7-10 years. Is this true? I just want to be an OT, not be teach it. Would it be worth the money to get a doctorate for job security reasons?