moving off campus?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

doctorbaker

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been living on the campus of my school for almost 2 years. I'm thinking about moving about 20 minutes away before MSIII begins. I know the hours are longer, etc, and therefore many people choose to move closer to the hospital. I just feel like I need some separation from school (not like I'm going to have much free time). Does anyone have personal experience from driving into the hospital for the clinical years or any advice? Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I am just in my first year, so take this for what its worth:

I live 25 mins from campus @ 65 MPH. I absolutely hate it. I have centered my leave/go home times around rush hour traffic (leave for school at 630 AM, drive home at 400 PM unless test week, then 600 PM). Aside from the first week after a test, I drive to campus 7 days a week. So gas money definitely adds up. I live in a fairly large city (Kansas City).

I dont like the drive because when things move smoothly its one thing, but they rarely do. Wrecks slow the pace down, idiots slow the pace down and are generally frustrating. With the crazy amounts of snow we have had, it has made things terrible during the drive. If I could go back in time I would live within walking distance of campus, and Im certainly moving for second year. Just imagine leaving the hospital around rush hour after a frustrating day and dealing with traffic, vs. walking home and plopping down in a chair. That's my biggest thing.

That may just be me though. I tend to be a silent road rager.

My advice is to live as close as possible to your med school's major hospital during third year. I have a five minute walk. I said a prayer of thanks every day during surgery and ob-gyn rotations. If you can avoid drive time, do it. You will never regret it.

Members don't see this ad :)