MPH, MHA or MBA for health administration career

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ucd

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know each of these degree have a slightly different focus whether its: health policy, administrative or business focus. I was wondering for people who have already been working in hospital administrative jobs whether you felt your specific degree has hindered or helped your growth and opportunity in the hospital setting? Did you feel to need to get another degree or combine degrees to advance your career? Did the name or prestige of your program help you with your career. Any input or insight would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

I'm working in an administrative area in a healthcare system so I can share my observation/experience which certainly can vary from place to place.

I have an MBA in healthcare admin which unfortunately was not AACSB because I didn't know what that was at the time. In terms of employment in my local area, having the graduate degree was all that mattered. Some employers offset years of experience requirements with the equivalent years from a graduate degree. I have not found it helps salary-wise compared to a candidate without a graduate degree, only in the sense HR might allow progression into the next level more quickly, again due to offsetting the years of experience requirements. Other than that, prestige or accreditation does not carry much weight here, at least so far, and this has been true through observing those in management positions as well. Years of experience is weighted MUCH more highly than degree program and there are several senior leaders and executives who do not have graduate degrees.