MS1 Summer Research

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedEpi2020

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys,

I have a question about my upcoming summer research.

I was a nontraditional applicant with a degree in epidemiology. I used to work at the state level where I analyzed nationally representative data from CDC and led state health policies. I have extensive knowledge and experience in epidemiology and public health health and I intend to use that in my advantage to strengthen the research component of my residency application.

Instead of applying to the different summer research programs for first year medical students, which are more oriented to case reports or chart review types of projects, I contacted my old colleagues and now will be a part of the public health surveillance team of my state's department of health. There I will have access to nationally representative data of medical records and can use that database to analyze any variables I want. I asked if I would have the possibility to publish and they told me that I would for sure, since they needed to use the data for interventions. I also have the opportunity to keep working with them and be part of multiple publications.

I think it's a great opportunity but I am afraid that the fact that it is public health research instead of purely clinical research or research specific in my desired specialty (I have different specialties in mind but still haven't decided) will hurt my residency application.

Does this sound like a good research opportunity for residency applications?
How bad is it to not had done research in my desired specialty?

Members don't see this ad.