MS1's in turmoil: Stressed. Confused. Depressed. Buyer's remorse..The experiences/thoughts of a MS2.

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Frazier

Palliative Emergentologist
Lifetime Donor
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
There have been a few threads posted by members (and given SDN's popularity, I'm sure there's plenty of lurkers too) that have been having a tough time during MS1.

Currently, at my school we're starting the last of our main preclinical blocks this Monday -- only about 4 months out from completing MS2 classes.

I mention the above to clarify that I have no experience with third year/beyond, so cannot comment on that... however, from what I hear, the hardest of my school's MS2 curriculum is now behind me... so I'll keep my aim on MS1/MS2.

So, here are some thoughts:

Med school is tough. We all hear it coming in that it is going to give us a run for our money (in all interpretations of the phrase); however, as many of you quickly found out -- myself included -- it is largely unlike any other academic experience/environment(!) encountered to date.

Like most of you, I was a pretty good undergrad student...didn't have any trouble with classes, tutored for the sci departments, etc.

"Yeah, yeah...how tough can med school be? I balanced a whole bunch of classes and EC's as a premed."

Well, as you saw after matriculating -- it can be real tough.

The volume is unlike anything experienced prior (e.g. 800 page syllabi in 4 weeks), the perpetual expectations of "professionalism" are unlike anything before (dress sharp, look sharp, be sharp), the surroundings are unlike anything before (100+ of the most motivated/intelligent people you'll meet as classmates).