My Canadian DAT Experience (23AA 98%percentile)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

I got my Canadian DAT scores back earlier last week and I managed to score 98th percentile or higher in every section except reading comprehension. Since there isn’t much information on the Canadian DAT on these forums, I thought I would share my experience on how I studied and scored so high on my DAT.

My Scores breakdown (Nov 5th, 2016)
Biol: 25 (98th percentile)
Chem: 23 (99th percentile)
PAT: 24 (98th percentile)
RC: 21 (78th percentile)
TS: 24 (100th percentile)
AA: 23 (98th percentile)

Score sheet:
imgur.com/a/huuRh

Practice Test Scores for DAT Bootcamp:

Biol: 24/24/24/24/24
Chem: 22/25/23/22/25
PAT: 21/21/20/19/20/20/23/23/23/22
RC: 20/19/18/x/x

Practice Test Scores for DAT Crusher:
PAT: 20/21/23/24
RC: 21

Note: the scores I didn’t include were ones I did not do.

Background
I just graduated from a 4-year biology program at York earlier this year and decided to take a year off before I apply everywhere. My GPA is fairly reasonable (3.86 with my worst year dropped) and so I had to kill my DAT to be competitive at most schools. I ended up studying for the DAT from the end of classes (around April) to November, so about 5 months while doing full time research in a physiology lab and taking one course.

Resources I used:
1. DAT Bootcamp
2. DAT Crusher (A new Canadian DAT resource)
3. DAT Destroyer
4. Chad’s videos
5. Cliff’s notes 3rd edition PDF and Craig savage youtube videos (mainly for plant and fungi review)