My Chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mjjdm1985

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm not sure what defines a non-traditional applicant but I think this is the right place for my post!

I want to see what you fellow applicants/already accepted students think about my chances to get into public medical school in Texas. My heart is set on TCOM (D.O.) right now, but if I get accepted I'm going!

Here's my path:

I graduated with a degree in accounting last August and began working as an auditor, but during undergrad I decided I wanted to go to medical school so I did my medical prerequisites simultaneously with my accounting classes. The whole reason I finished my accounting degree instead of switching was because I knew I would have a year of "off time" after graduating to get my resume in order and I wanted to have a well-paying job that would help me save for medical school. By the time I interview (hopefully) this fall I will have a year of auditing experience.

I volunteered in an emergency room for 6 months during my junior year of college.

Before my new job (and even partly during) I worked in a pediatric ER where my job specifically was to shadow doctors and take their notes. I spent over 1000 hours doing this.

Last August I went on a surgical mission trip to Central America where I helped the nurses in the recovery room and spent about 25 hours circulating in the operating rooms watching three types of surgeons and some anaesthesiologists work.

I have volunteered in three week-long camps for children, two for abused children and one for children with renal problems.

I have been volunteering for a hospice twice a month for 6 months.

I am signed up for genetic research credits over this next summer and will be continuing it throughout the fall.