Navy reserve for attendings

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dryflytrout8

Reaction score
Hi everyone
Thank you in advance for any words of wisdom and advice. I'm a board certified EM doctor who is also an active researcher (have several active grants etc). I have had a long standing interest in trying to contribute to the Navy as a member of the reserves. but I don't know what the best way to do so. 5 years ago it would have been much easier as a single individual but I'm now married with a young child on the way. I've tried asking previous colleagues who have served or are reserves and will plan to reach out to a recruiter but in preparing for such a meeting, I wanted to try to do my due diligence and check out the wisdom of the crowd...and good old SDN seems like a great place to ask:

1) Are there any academic physicians who are also in the reserve who have balanced the two? have you found ways to successfully navigate the responsibilities of the reserve (drilling, annual training) with your academic responsibilities as a faculty member? (research, admin etc).
2) Does the Navy consider any unique contributions of reserve members and could any of that work be used to count for drilling, etc (for example would my research work in the ED which overlaps many topics in trauma care be seen as something useful for the military?) or in general, is the navy most interested in your ability to serve clinically above all, and that is what you'll be seen as.