NC State Undergrad Getting into UM

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

j_lo

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone, I am hoping to get some opinions on my chances of getting into the University of Miami Miller School of Medicine. I am a sophomore at NC State University my cumulative GPA is 3.98. I have done shadowing and volunteering and also have a couple of leadership positions. I have not taken the MCAT yet but I am planning on doing so next May. I have looked at the stats of accepted students and my GPA is competitive and they accept some students from North Carolina, but I have not found any proof of NCSU students being accepted. I am wondering if my undergrad institution really matters for a school like this and if I really want to get into UM what I may consider doing. Any advice on how to stand out for the Miller School of Medicine? Should I transfer to a more competitive undergrad institution?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 user
Until you have a MCAT score, your chances are 0%. I'm not being a jerk, but it pointless to speculate without it.

And transferring to a more competitive school could tank your GPA. Stay where you are and work on rocking the MCAT and keeping your GPA up. That is the best thing you can do right now.

Members don't see this ad :)