Need advice: Failed Step 2ck twice / Want a Pediatric Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

16prov9

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm just wondering if anyone has any advice or encouragement for my situation.

I want a Pediatrics residency! Preferably in New York, if any way possible, otherwise I'm open on location.

I have 1-2 years research experience at 2 prestigious hospitals (with a publication); have some strong accomplishments that reflect positive character traits (discipline, perseverance); and will have also completed an MPH by residency start date. However...here are the points about me that make me not so confident:

1) IMG
2) failed Step2 CK twice; finally got 200, close to my Step1 score (201)
3) all my electives were in 2 other disciplines because it was not until my last rotation that I did a 180 and wanted to do Pediatrics/saw how it would best fit with future goals (due to a Pediatrician in a non-Pediatric department).

Now, I am prepared to give 100% in the residency application process, as I really want Pediatrics to work...(ie, right now I am planning to apply to 139 programs).

Any advice? Word of warning? Encouragement or hope..??

Thank you so much, I am all ears.

*EDIT: I should add that all of my clinical grades and comments are outstanding, across the board.

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
...Any advice? Word of warning? Encouragement or hope..??