1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Need advice on application strengthening...

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by Angel252, Aug 9, 2015.

1. Angel252

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical
    So I graduated and currently applying to medical school. I want to become independent and support myself financially without the need of my parents. Now, I could obtain a job that would allow me to do so, but I would have to work full-time without the ability/energy to volunteer. On the other hand (which I don't want to), is go back with my parents, get a part-time job plus volunteering and other activities that will strengthen my application just in the worst case scenario of not getting accepted.

If someone could give me some advice on what would look better, or if working full-time without volunteering would look bad. I have 3 months to decide.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. gothicfoxes

gothicfoxes MD & MPH goals
    2+ Year Member

Other Health Professions Student
    If you got a full-time job what would your shifts be like? Surely there's time in the mornings, evenings, or weekends to volunteer, even if you work 40 hrs/week.

4. starlite911

2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    Would it be possible to volunteer a couple hours on a weekend?

Angel252 and gothicfoxes like this.
  5. gothicfoxes

2+ Year Member

Synchronized posts hahah ;)

starlite911 likes this.
  6. starlite911

2+ Year Member

Medical Student
    That's how ya know it's a good idea!

gothicfoxes likes this.
  7. Angel252

2+ Year Member

Pre-Medical