Need Advice On applying for Premed

italian4522

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Im currently I high school senior. Its my goal to become a doctor. Im a volunteer firefighter and I love going on medical calls more than anything. My problem is that my freshman and sophomore year I got too into the partying scene, and failed about half my classes. I turned my life around junior year, And now im sitting on about a 2.8 gpa. I live in FL and I dont even know if I should bother applying to major universities like UF or USF for Pre-Med. I still haven't even taken my ACTS or SATs :eek: . Im just looking for some advice.

Thanks Alot
Nick

Members don't see this ad.

Im currently I high school senior. Its my goal to become a doctor. Im a volunteer firefighter and I love going on medical calls more than anything. My problem is that my freshman and sophomore year I got too into the partying scene, and failed about half my classes. I turned my life around junior year, And now im sitting on about a 2.8 gpa. I live in FL and I dont even know if I should bother applying to major universities like UF or USF for Pre-Med. I still haven't even taken my ACTS or SATs :eek: . Im just looking for some advice.

Thanks Alot
Nick

You don't really have to do anything to be "pre-med." Pre-med essentially just means you need to take the medical school pre-reqs. Just apply for the schools you want for the majors you want. Good luck. I would schedule your ACT and SAT soon.

Members don't see this ad :)
2.8 gpa can be made up with high enough sat scores (2100+ is good), a large amount of extra curricular activities, an upward trend in gpa, an excellent personal statement, and great LOR's.

the only school i would imagine you having trouble getting into from my knowledge of florida school systems, is Umiami and possibly UFl

Thanks Alot
Nick