Need advice on which LORs to include for composite letter

OCDOCDOCD

5+ Year Member
May 26, 2012
Status
Non-Student
tl;dr version at the bottom of the post; already posted this in the LOR thread but that thread hasn't had any activity for days so I'm assuming it's dead

I'm nearing the deadline for my alma matter's composite letter application and they want a maximum of 4 LORs (not due until much later, I just have to confirm who will be writing). Until recently I was planning on just using all my PIs over the years plus a lab supervisor since that bumps me up to 4 solid letters that I know will be good, and since I'm applying MD/PhD I figured all they really care about is the PI letters anyway. However, I've been looking more into it and it seems like MD/PhD programs also want letters from professors that taught you with the usual 2 science/1 non-science quota.

I have a few professors in mind, but the problem is that I graduated 2 years ago and never had a professor for more than one class and never really went to office hours, so I don't know how good these letters would be. I also live 100+ miles away from the university now so I have to hope that they can remember me from name alone and maybe a few details about who I was in their classes. The upside is that the two science professors I'm considering both taught small classes (one was a grad class) and don't teach often (in fact I think that for one of them I was 1 out of 12 people they've ever taught), and I did do pretty well in their classes.