Need advice regarding my chances

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

sharmi

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I recently took the Jan MCAT and got a 30Q.
PS 11 - VR 7 - BS 12 - WS Q

I had taken it last Sep and got a 28Q.
PS 11 - VR 6 - BS 11 - WS Q

VR is my weak spot. English is not my first language. No matter what I do, I am not sure I can bring up my score in VR. Will probably take it and concentrate more on my grade.

I am a non-trad from CA with 3.8 - 3.9 GPA from classes taken at UC's/CSU's here so far (40 sems credits) - still to take at least 30 more credits before I apply next summer (2011). I have a foreign bachelors and masters in chemistry but I am not counting those in my GPA. Target is to take 90 credits before I matriculate with a 3.9+ GPA.

Have sufficient volunteer experience (over 1 year at Kaiser plus a couple of year at Agnews - was the CA State institution for the developmentally challenged)

Work full-time at an Operations Manager at a top tier HiTech company today. Was an employee of IBM in the past - left for better job / compensation.

Any idea what would be my chances ?

Members don't see this ad.

There is a "What Are My Chances" thread somewhere, but I think you have a great chance. Decent MCAT (low VR but can be explained) and good gpa, couldn't hurt to get a bit more clinical experience, ie shadowing.

How hard is it to get into Texas schools for California resident with my stats ?

Members don't see this ad :)
How hard is it to get into Texas schools for California resident with my stats ?

I would think you have a decent chance within the pack, but Texas schools only take 10% OOS students. Although there are several schools in Texas. I really wouldn't know, its more competitive but you have a decent app. Get more clinical experience in there and you have a good shot I would think.

This is all just my own opinion though.

*sigh*