Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Need advice! Tough Situation

Discussion in 'Nontraditional Students' started by FrkyBgStok, Jan 1, 2009.

1. FrkyBgStok

10+ Year Member

MDApps:
    Resident [Any Field]
    Ok. Here is my situation. I went to a community college and got an associates degree in automotive science, and when I graduated went back to school to pursue medicine. I transferred to a university and took bio I, chem I, physics I, and college algebra my first semester. Second semester I took, bio II, chem II, and physics II. I didn't do too well. B in Bio I and math, but basically c's in everything else.

i was working and had one kid at the time. i thought i couldn't cut it so i tried to pursue something else, but i kept coming back to medicine. Fast forward. I am going to return to school and retake those classes. Problem is I have 3 kids now and I have to work full time.

Going back to the university is really something I just cannot afford. I can retake these prereqs at a community college, as well as take orgo i and ii. I plan to transfer to a extension location of a state school and finish a 4 year however it doesn't offer any science classes at all.

I e-mailed DMU. I am from des moines and really want to attend there more than anything. I asked them about CC prereqs. They responded by saying they will accept CC credits, but they strongly recommend taking as many as possible at a university to prove you can handle the rigors of med school.