Need advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

CounselingGirl

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I've been accepted to a few PhD programs straight out of undergrad (without having written a thesis- so there is hope, to people that are worried about that!:) ). I've also been accepted to several MA programs.

My initial intention was for the MA programs to be back-up options, but lately I've been reconsidering my choices. Despite the debt, I think I'd feel more comfortable with the 2-year commitment of a MA program. I'd also be an hour away from my family and boyfriend, verses 14 hours away. Additionally, although I enjoy research, I think I enjoy clinical work more. I found volunteering at a Crisis Center to be more fulfilling than serving as a Research Assistant. Finally, I am not very good at statistics. It's the only course I received a B in, and it's very boring to me.

Would it be foolish of me to turn down the PhD offers and get my MA first due to my uncertainty? I know I could always go back and reapply to PhD programs, but I might not get in on the second round :-/

Members don't see this ad.

Hey-

I think it would be beneficial to first decide if your willing to leave your relationship behind... A phd program is a big commitment and I believe it would tough if your energies are focused elsewhere. Would your partner move with you?

Hey-

I think it would be beneficial to first decide if your willing to leave your relationship behind... A phd program is a big commitment and I believe it would tough if your energies are focused elsewhere. Would your partner move with you?

My boyfriend can't go with me. The Masters programs would put me (on average) 2 hours away from him, which is manageable. The PhD program would be a lot more difficult. We'd try to do long distance either way.