Need an opinion (not a "what are my chances" topic)

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kimmieg

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I hope I'm not posting this topic in the wrong forum, but here's the situation. I applied to medical school last summer for matriculation this fall, and so far all I have are waiting lists. There's this one particular school (let's call them Bofo School of Medicine) that I feel might have violated some kind of privacy law, but I'm not a lawyer nor an expert in the area, so I can't really say. I have a nosy relative (let's call them Nosy) who called Bofo SOM to see why I didn't get accepted and apparently asked about my stats. Now Nosy knows all of my numbers, such as overall GPA, science GPA, biology GPA, MCAT score, etc. I found out that Nosy did this after my mom told me. I feel completely violated that the school would give this kind of information out to a third party. Isn't this kind of information personal and supposed to be private and protected? It's sort of like when you need to order/pick up a transcript. Schools will not give a person other than yourself the right to your transcript unless you give them the authority to, usually with a signature.

Am I completely wrong in assuming that this particular school has stepped way out of bounds and violated my privacy? I'm not trying to be litigious or anything; I would just like some thoughts on the matter.

Members don't see this ad.

It is ILLEGAL for schools to release your info without your permission. That's a big no no.

"You got served!" That is funny! However, what happened isn't. I would be royally peeved! :eek:

Members don't see this ad :)
It definitely stinks.

The undertone I'm getting is "Do I get to get something in return for them violating my privacy?" Is that part of the question?