Need help deciding between Columbia and Stony Brook for MPH?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

harrypottermeds

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Everyone! I'm about to start my first semester of graduate school but I have yet to officially decide between attending Columbia and Stony Brook. Here is a list of the pros and cons of each school that I have to consider. My background is a debt-free student that just graduated undergrad from a NYC public school. Finances are not really an issue, although they are something to consider for the future depending on whether it's worth it to shell out a certain amount of money for a specific program. My goals for the future are to become involved in healthcare policy and management and get involved in a higher-level executive position where I can manage a hospital, agency, organization, etc. I want to pursue both an MPH and MBA (possibly a PhD or JD in the far future as well).

Mailman School of Public Health at Columbia for MPH in Sociomedical Sciences (2 year program)
Pros -- good reputation in public health, can be commuted to using public transportation, location in NYC is ideal for work and connections
Cons -- expensive (75-85K for 2 years in total), one degree (MPH)

SUNY Stony Brook for MPH/MBA Program in Health Policy and Management concentration (2.5 year program)
Pros -- cheap in-state tuition (total of about 45-50k for 2.5 years in total), TWO degrees (MPH and MBA), easy to commute to using public transportation
Cons -- location is out in Long Island (hard to work at the same time since commute is deeper), program lacks name + reputation in both the MPH and MBA field, not recommended to go for MBA straight out of undergraduate school