Need Help Devising Plan [Sub 490 Retake]

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Reaction score
Hello All,

I come here frustrated and humbled, and wanted to get some tips so I can overcome the barrier I am encountering and do well on my second attempt at the MCAT. My target score is a 515+, although I would love to go for a 520 (though this is over a 30 point jump from my first score, back in June 2020.)

I graduated from my University back in May 2020, with a 3.56 cGPA and 3.5 sGPA, and have since taken the MCAT once before, which I performed awful on (sub 490). This score was due to a combination of a personal family loss, in addition to a COVID scare & severe testing anxiety. I honestly should have voided the exam score if anything, but I felt seeing a poor score would motivate me all the more to do well on my second attempt. I don't fear failure, but rather embrace it. As an avid Basketball Fan, I like to view my first performance as a similarity to when LeBron James joined the Miami Heat. Although he didn't win a title immediately (got embarrassed by the Mavs in '11 Finals), he came back stronger than ever in '12-13. I'm aware certain medical schools will average my scores or bring it up in an interview, but I have to bite the bullet and move on.