1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Guest, be sure to check out How To Get Into Dental School, our free downloadable PDF with step-by-step details for dental school applicants!
    Dismiss Notice
  3. Dismiss Notice
  4. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice
  5. Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.
    Dismiss Notice
Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Need nsight/advice- Non traditional Applicant applying to both TX schools and others

Discussion in 'Pre-Dental' started by lovetractor, Mar 26, 2004.

1. lovetractor

lovetractor Junior Member

Hi Everyone- been reading a bunch of great stories and insight from everyone, I was hoping I could get help with my specific situation.

I am a TX resident via New Hampshire and now that my wife has finished MSW school I can now concentrate on my lifelong dream of becoming a dentist!

My stats are as follows:
    Undergrad GPA (BS Chemical Engineering): 3.22 (Earned in the Honors Program at my alma mater)
    Science GPA: 3.23 (dragged down due to ridiculously hard engineering courses, mostly B's and B+'s, no C's)
    BCP GPA: 3.43
    Graduate (MBA) GPA: 3.65

Reading everyone's insights into the TX schools, it would appear that my stats are low and it would be unlikely that I would gain admission.

My questions:
    1) Does my Chem Eng degree receive special consideration versus a "less demanding" degree? How about the fact that I was in the Honors Program (accelerated, more challenging coursework)?
    2) How does my Graduate GPA get factored in? Into overall GPA calculation or does it replace my non-science coursework?