Need of some advice for a new post bacc candidate

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

PopeJoja

10+ Year Member
Reaction score

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hi,

I am relatively new to the whole post bacc thing. I was wondering if anyone would be willing to answer a few questions about the post bacc process.

I read on the FAQ about a glide year. Does that mean, if I am excepted to med school after the post bacc, I won't be going to school for a whole year?

If I have somewhat reasonable stats my senior year should I apply to med school? The logic behind this is that I may be wait-listed. And, while I am doing a post bacc, I could keep updating my profile and maybe get an acceptance. I would only do this to possibly save time. Again, I am ignorant about these programs, so I really need your help.

What programs in texas offer year long programs that would raise your GPA.

Thank you for helping me.

what kind of past-bacc are you considering. traditional ones are for students that haven't taken the pre-reqs yet. smp's are for students that have, but their grades are below the acceptable range (<3.45).

1-if you do the post-bacc/smp and apply the summer after completion (your best chance) then you will be applying for two autumns in the future... and might not be actually accepted until the following spring/summer. thus you will have about a year off. use this to expand your resume/application by working in a clinical/lab setting, or volunteering, or traveling and doing something unique and worth mentioning in interviews.

2-depends largely on what your stats are if you apply senior year. (seeing as you are considering applying i'm assuming you have all the pre-reqs done and you should be looking for an smp [depending on your numbers] ).