need serious advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

eyeloveu

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have wanted to be a dentist as long as I could remember. When I got into college I had a very hard time transitioning because I was away from home and didn't know anyone. When I was taking my science courses I realized that my background in these subjects sucked and my grades slipped pretty bad. I have mastered the whole studying thing for about 3 years now and get all A's and B's (but mostly A's) in very difficult courses. Last year I took the DAT and received PA:20, Bio: 18, Chem:18, Orgo:19, QR:15, RC:20, AA:18, TS:19. Needless to say I didn't get in anywhere. I am already 24 yrs old and I graduated in May with my B.S. and was readmitted this year to get a second B.S., but no matter how well I do my GPA doesn't budge. I feel like I have so many credits already it is impossible to improve my GPA from a 2.8---which has to happen. I have had a full-time job at a dental office for 2.5 yrs (I have to pay for everything myself), have tons of shadowing hours and have tons of volunteering hours and held an officer position in pre-dental ASDA. I have become so discouraged about this that I think I am going to give up the whole dental thing and apply for optometry because the minimum requirements are more along the lines of where I am at academically. If anyone has any advise for me I would really appreciate it because I am giving up something that I truly love and have passion for because I dug myself a hole so big with my GPA there is no way I would get accepted anywhere b/c of the intense competition. I need to get in to a professional school this year because I feel like time is ticking away and I am beyond prepared for professional school, b/c I am tired of struggling financially and want to feel like I am moving forward. Advice?!!!

Members don't see this ad.