Need some advice

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

greatdoc

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,
I am currently doing intern year in IM. My scores in step 1 and 2 are 99/244 and 99/260. I want to switch to radiology. I have no research experience. And worst I am a FMG. I have experience of working in radiology in my home country and as Ultrasound tech in US (1 year).
I was advised by some faculty members at a radiology program, that I interviewed at, to complete intern year in medicine and then get into doing some research in radiology and reapply for 2010 year match. But this puts me in a very uncertain situation.
The other option, that I have, is to continue with IM and reapply to radiology, but this has some funding issues.
In the meantime, I am also applying to the PGY2 / R1 vacant positions.
Please advice me, if the first option is a good one or should I stick to IM for now and reapply for this years' match.
Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi everyone,
I am currently doing intern year in IM. My scores in step 1 and 2 are 99/244 and 99/260. I want to switch to radiology. I have no research experience. And worst I am a FMG. I have experience of working in radiology in my home country and as Ultrasound tech in US (1 year).
I was advised by some faculty members at a radiology program, that I interviewed at, to complete intern year in medicine and then get into doing some research in radiology and reapply for 2010 year match. But this puts me in a very uncertain situation.
The other option, that I have, is to continue with IM and reapply to radiology, but this has some funding issues.
Please advice me, if the first option is a good one or should I stick to IM for now and reapply for this years' match.
Thanks in advance.