Need Some Honest Advice! Chances?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

IKA

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm going to graduate with a BS and BA (double major) from a California school in June. I have a 3.45 cumulative and a 3.2 science GPA. My numbers are quite low, I know. To top it off I took the MCAT after my second year and got a 29: 11PS 8V 10Bio. I took it again the year after that and thanks to excessive stress and hyperventilating, I only got one point higher (30): 10PS 10 V 10Bio.

I have quite a few extracurriculars and I studied abroad so I think I'm okay on that front. Also, I am willing to take the MCAT a third time if necessary. If I do, I could get a 33 and hope for a 35.

What are my chances of getting into any medical school? I really want to apply and I think I'll apply regardless since I want it so much. Still, I have to be realistic and spend more time on back up options if I basically have no chance. What do you guys think?

Thanks in advance! Your advice will be super helpful :)

Members don't see this ad.

DO schools, just fine, but that sGPA will hurt you the most. Going from 29 -> 30 isn't that impressive either. Try only the lowest of the low-tier MD schools like Rosy Franklin or NYMC.

I'm going to graduate with a BS and BA (double major) from a California school in June. I have a 3.45 cumulative and a 3.2 science GPA. My numbers are quite low, I know. To top it off I took the MCAT after my second year and got a 29: 11PS 8V 10Bio. I took it again the year after that and thanks to excessive stress and hyperventilating, I only got one point higher (30): 10PS 10 V 10Bio.

I have quite a few extracurriculars and I studied abroad so I think I'm okay on that front. Also, I am willing to take the MCAT a third time if necessary. If I do, I could get a 33 and hope for a 35.