need to vent

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Deepa100

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have been preparing for 4 months now, 3-4 hrs. each day. I am known to be reasonably intelligent and did extremely well in school, always.

I am having such hard time w/ this comprehension/passage type of MCAT testing. I am taking my time to make sure that I am well prepared but I am really feeling burned out today. I am scoring mid-upper twenties still, I yet have to see a 30 in one of the sample tests.

Will I ever get to scoring 30+ in these tests??

Members don't see this ad.

I have been preparing for 4 months now, 3-4 hrs. each day. I am known to be reasonably intelligent and did extremely well in school, always.

I am having such hard time w/ this comprehension/passage type of MCAT testing. I am taking my time to make sure that I am well prepared but I am really feeling burned out today. I am scoring mid-upper twenties still, I yet have to see a 30 in one of the sample tests.

Will I ever get to scoring 30+ in these tests??

It might be a good time to stop focusing on your score by itself and start focusing on how much positive change happens with your scores. MCAT has nothing to do with how you did in school or intelligence. I am living proof of that fact.

As soon as you stop obsessing about a particular number and start focusing on the process, you are likely to see the numbers that you seek. You are not on a quest for the "crystal skull" here.

i did better on the real deal than i had on any of my practice tests. then again, i only took 2 full-length practice tests, and my personality type is such that i thrive under the pressure to perform. the point is that these tests may not be a perfect predictor of how you will do on the actual MCAT.