New EM interest, what if you cant apply to 30 programs!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Reedchick

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all. I am a new user of SDN so please bear with me.

I am a 4th year medical student, that will be starting an MBA in the fall, then will be returning in the spring to complete my 4th year of medical school in 08'. I have decided to pursue EM, but have a few questions about it.

I am married, and my husband has a job that he really likes, and for which there is hope of him getting promoted, in a specific area of PA. We would like to move to an area close to his job (as for the past 4 years he has been commuting 3 hours a day because I am in medical school here). So really, my options as far as residencies are very limited...limited to about 9 programs...4 which would be ideal, and 5 which are MD programs, and not as close to his work. (I will be a DO by the way). I think my board scores are relatively competitive, and my grades match, but lets face it...UPenn probably isnt going to be a taker here. That leaves me 8 programs.

1. How do I go about this? Is it even possible?
2. Do I apply for all the ER programs and rank them 1-8, the apply to fam med in same area and rank them 9+? Will applying for fam med hurt my EM chances?
3. Will having the MBA help me at all, or make me more competitive for a spot?
4. What do I need to do to insure that I get into one of my top 3? Just tell me...and I will do it. I have a year of this MBA, so will hopefully have extra time to go putz around different ER's if I need to..

What do you all think? Thanks so much for your help.

Members don't see this ad.

Ok, I'm just an MS2 but I've spent a lot of time here so I'll say what I'm thinking.