New Member with a ?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Stratus2675

Bronx Bomber
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone

I found this site a week ago while searching for answers about med schools. I have read about a hundred threads and most of my answers have been answered, but i do need some input about my situation.

Here are my stats:
29 year old white male
3.2 undergrad GPA
3.8 Science GPA
BS in Criminal Justice (1997)

I have been working in business (telecom hell) for 5+ years and decided to go to school for something in medicine (PT, PA, MD). After taking classes at Nassau Community College, volunteering, and talking with numerous members of each healthcare field, I decided that I wanted MD. I have taken all of the prereqs at a Nassau within the last 3 years, with only Orgo 2, and Physics 2 left to take next semester. I'm planning on taking the MCAT in August of 2005.

My question is, what should I do next? I don't think I will be competitive enough (due to community college level courses) so i am looking into Masters programs (BU, Harvard, NYMC). Is this the correct plan of action?

Also, how good is the Harvard Extension School Masters program? I have an opportunity to work in a Harvard research lab next September, so I am looking for a good program in the Boston area, as well as the NYC area.

Thanks

(sorry its so wordy)

Members don't see this ad.

Stratus2675 said:
Hey everyone

I found this site a week ago while searching for answers about med schools. I have read about a hundred threads and most of my answers have been answered, but i do need some input about my situation.

Here are my stats:
29 year old white male
3.2 undergrad GPA
3.8 Science GPA
BS in Criminal Justice (1997)