New Pre Vet Student

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

studmuffin

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi Guys,

I'm a senior in college, have been pre med all this time. I have recently been looking at vet school as another option. I have a 3.84 science GPA and 3.77 cumulative. The problem is I have no experience working with animals. I've been doing various community service throughout college, but never with animals. Another issue is my GPA for the last 45 credits. I'm coming off off my worst semester ever, a 2.9. This semester it's looking like a 3.4. The other semester that would factor in to that would be a 4.0. I calculated it out, and it looks like my "last 45 credits" number will be about 3.3-3.4. I'm kinda bummed about this, because it signals a downward trend. I have all the pre req courses for the most part. FWIW I got a 31 on the MCAT. Where shouls I start? Is it a black mark on my application if my GPA was low at the tail end of college? Thanks.

Members don't see this ad.

If you have no experience with animals, how can you be sure that you want to go to vet school?
Most (all?) schools require veterinary experience and many require a letter of recommendation from a veterinarian.

There is an explanation section on the application if you have a good reason why that one semester was so much lower than the others. Some schools will weigh the last 45 GPA more heavily than other schools will so it may or may not affect you. You will need to take the GRE, most schools wont even look at your MCAT scores. And did I mention that you need veterinary experience? I'd recommend starting there.

If you have no experience with animals, how can you be sure that you want to go to vet school?
Most (all?) schools require veterinary experience and many require a letter of recommendation from a veterinarian.