New York Medical College - in trouble??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

2bkiddoc

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all you NYMC med students.

I've come to SDN to seek the truth about something a friend of mine at Jefferson told me. I'm a non-trad student applying to medical school and am originally from Rockland (working in Philly at the childrens hosp at the moment). This jeff student (who went to HS with me in rock) said that westchester med has told employees to start seeking work elsewhere. And said student also mentioned that applying to NYMC is not a smart idea becuase its future is shaky.

So, is it fact or fiction? Is it really as bad as it seems? I love my family dearly and would love to be close to my rapidly aging parents for medical school (although I wouldnt commute from rockland, but im right off the TZ bridge). I hope this other med student was just talking "talk"

I'd love to hear from you!!! I'd rather get the truth from you all than wonder about an unsupported rumor.

Thanks!!! :thumbup:

Members don't see this ad.

I don't know where he heard that, but neither Weschester Med Center nor NYMC are in any danger of closing. It is true that Westchester Med is operating at a loss (like many other hospitals), but they could never close. It is the only major hospital in the region it serves.

The only bad thing I have heard is that they are hostile to minorities, particularly LGBQ. I'm not sure what the basis for this was though.

Members don't see this ad :)
http://www.thejournalnews.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20050301/NEWS02/503010357/1027/NEWS11
The hospital is not doing financially well... and from some brief inside experience not amazingly well run. Being from the surrounding area too, it sounds like many hospitals in Westchester are not doing well financially.