Newbie here...

Discussion in 'Pre-Pharmacy' started by joejoe75, Apr 6, 2007.

1. joejoe75

2+ Year Member

so Im gonna pick your brains to make a well informed decision. Im contemplating heading back to school and becoming a pharmacist. I got my Bachelors in 2003 in a totally unrelated field so unfortunately I'll probably have to start as a freshman. Im also 26 yo, not exactly a spring chicken anymore, so thats another thing I have to take into consideration. Although I have talked to a few pharmacists in nearby retail pharmacies and they said when they went to school, there were some older students in their class. I got mixed reactions when I asked these pharmacists if they were happy with their choices. One lady said she really liked it and that it was definitely worth it, even at this stage of the game for me (a little later in life), salary wise (which she said would pay for itself in no time) and just overall job satisfaction-wise. Then there was this one guy last night, when I asked him if he was happy with his choice, he said, "no, i regretted it from day one. " when i asked him why, he said because its very boring. I thought he was pulling my leg, but he was dead serious. He went on to say that its very good at first because you start making excellent money right off the bat, but if you talk to that same pharmacist a year later, they will tell you that they hate it (if theyre honest, he added). I was actually pretty shocked at his response. Anyway, I would like to hear some of your feedback, whether or not you are happy with your choice, if you have any advice for me, whatever. Any feedback is greatly appreciated.

As per proper message board etiquette, I searched for my answers before posting my questions. Like I said before, Im a newbie in these parts, so I'll probably be asking a few more quesitons in order to make my decision. Again, thanks in advance.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. Farmercyst

Farmercyst From the shadows