1. Dismiss Notice
  2. Download free Tapatalk for iPhone or Tapatalk for Android for your phone and follow the SDN forums with push notifications.
    Dismiss Notice

newbie starting post-bacc

Discussion in 'Postbaccalaureate Programs' started by MedChic, Dec 19, 2005.

1. MedChic

MedChic Senior Member
    10+ Year Member

Resident [Any Field]
    Best website ever! Props to the creators =)

A little background: I graduated in May from a decent university with no clear cut picture of my future. I was always interested in pre-med, but got a bit sidetracked by theatre, English and other such pursuits. I have never overexerted myself in my classes, perhaps because I was exploring so many interests and I found it hard to focus on one particular pathway. Hence my 3.2 undergrad GPA. But I digress.

I knew that medicine had always interested me and I loved Bio and Anatomy in high school, but math related classes have always made me want to run for cover. :scared: Nevertheless I took the required Bio I, Bio II, Chem I and II classes in college and received B's.

After graduation to explore my interest I gained some experience in the healthcare field by working in hospitals and a clinic. I LOVED IT. I want to help people, as DIsney as that sounds. It is so satisfying, especially working with sick kids or with the elderly patients, to know they are counting on you to alleviate their pain somehow. I know many will say being an MD is a hassle (malpractice, long hours, brutal residencies, insurance shizit to deal with), and I am fully aware of these burdens. Yet, I find it so incredibly rewarding. It's funny because after being so lost for a while I finally feel RIGHT about something I am doing, satisfied and content.

Enough mush.