Dismiss Notice

Interview Feedback: Visit Interview Feedback to view and submit interview information.

Interviewing Masterclass: Free masterclass on interviewing from SDN and Medical College of Georgia

Dismiss Notice
Hey Texans—join us for a DFW meetup! Click here to learn more.

Newcomer to the boards

Discussion in 'Pre-Medical - MD' started by yawmin, Mar 15, 2004.

1. yawmin

yawmin Junior Member

Hello all, this would be my first post on these boards. Like so many of you, I'm going to be trying to get into med school in the next year or two. I've been looking over the posts and generally I have hope about my chances of success, although with a renewed sense of gravity about my situation.

I graduated a comp sci major from Stanford - at the height of the tech bust. My grades were no better than average, mostly Bs and Cs. After that, though, I got into a radiology tech program at a community college and am about to finish that up now. I am doing pretty well in that.

Essentially, I intend to retake a full year of bio with lab, physics, and ochem with lab (I believe I have already covered the chem requirements), plus a couple of calculus and english classes. Then I'll hit up the MCAT in April 2005 (I am aware I won't be finished with all the necessary material, but I have already begun studying.) I realize the key to a successful admission at my point is probably doing well on the MCAT.

My question - probably the same as many other newbies to the board - is how feasible is this? Am I just wasting my time? Let me just say I am serious about this - if I have a chance at getting in, I'm going to take it. I don't want to regret anything later by not trying. Also, where would the best place to find an official premed advisor be, since I have already completed undergrad?

Thanks for your time in reading this long post and any replies you have.

2. Note: SDN Members do not see this ad.

3. exmike

exmike NOR * CAL
    10+ Year Member

Fellow [Any Field]