NIH or working in professor's lab?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

athelas314

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, all. I'm looking at my options for summer work, and have decided to do one of those two. As I see it, working for a professor has the advantage of follow-up opportunities (I'm a freshman), but NIH has a more definitely medicine-related focus. Which would you guys advise, both for med school purposes and for overall enjoyablility?

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, all. I'm looking at my options for summer work, and have decided to do one of those two. As I see it, working for a professor has the advantage of follow-up opportunities (I'm a freshman), but NIH has a more definitely medicine-related focus. Which would you guys advise, both for med school purposes and for overall enjoyablility?

I can't speak to enjoyability. That would depend on your interpersonal dynamic with your labmates more than anything else.

However, I can tell you what would be best for med school purposes. I recommend the following:
1) call the PIs from both palces
2) determine what opportunites you'll have to get published, present a conference poster and/or do independent research
3) choose the place that will give you the best opportunities in #2

I think the answer is that it depends. First of all, are you interested in the work that the professor is doing? Secondly, make sure that there are opportunities to continue your work into the school year. Some professors are strictly looking for someone for the summer while others are looking to "groom" someone for long-term work in his lab. And then there are other things to consider: pay, location, etc.

Members don't see this ad :)