Pharmavixen

foxy pharmacist
10+ Year Member
7+ Year Member
Jan 20, 2008
Canada
Status (Visible)
  1. Pharmacist
Context: I've been preparing methadone in a jail for the past 15 years, and also worked part-time in a methadone clinic for four of those (lots of customer overlap between the two work places). For the past several years, the most popular opioid of abuse in Canada has been Oxycontin. The number of people on methadone has been steadily climbing for the past ten or so years.

Then on March 1st, Oxycontin was discontinued in Canada and replaced with OxyNeo. Most of the provincial government insurance plans aren't covering OxyNeo. Bottom line: enormous reduction in oxycodone-containing products on the streets.

I emailed my bosses and various folks in the methadone business, saying we need to prepare ourselves for a deluge of new clientele as Oxycontin addicts run through the remaining supply.

What's happened? The opposite. I've got fewer guys on methadone since 1999. One of the methadone inmates told me today that some people were switching to heroin or other opioids, but then he said, "They're not the same as Oxycontin. So people are kicking."

Is this too good to be true?

rxlea

Almost a unicorn
Moderator Emeritus
7+ Year Member
Aug 9, 2009
Status (Visible)
  1. Pharmacist
Well with the oxycontin, they know what's in it. It's regulated and has purity. People don't always know what's in heroin. I've had patients in the past say they would rather use oxycontin because it's safer. Plus, you don't necessarily have to use needles which reduces the risk for HIV. Then you deal with street drug dealers and that's a whole other issue.

psychoandy

10+ Year Member
Aug 30, 2005
Is buprenorphine/naloxone being used instead? Is it approved for use in Canada? Maybe use of regular oxycodone or other opiates is on the rise to compensate?

About the Ads

Socrates25

10+ Year Member
Aug 30, 2009
Status (Visible)
  1. Attending Physician