No RadOnc Program at your school

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

dirtybob

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm a first year medical student interested in RadOnc, but i have a problem, UCSD has no radonc program, so i feel i'm at a disadvantage because of the lack of exposure, and connections that i can build within my school. I'm also fearing that I won't obtain a good LOR from my school which is critical apparently for most residencies. What should i do to strengthen my chances of matching in Radonc without a program in my own school? I know most of you guys will say ace the boards, but if you guys have any other advice, please share:)

Members don't see this ad.

Gfunk6 said:
Definitely do one or two externships in RadOnc, preferably in the residency program you want to attend. This is an absolute must as you will not be a serious candidate otherwise.

Along the same lines, your Rad Onc LOR will obviously have to come from one of your externships. Try to get to know the PD or chair well if possible.

Members don't see this ad :)
As a first year, you have an advantage over your competition, most of whom "discover" rad onc as 4th years. With some time to plan, you can also spend your summers places that do have medical student summer programs (Anderson and FoxChase have them) doing research for a few weeks. I've heard these are invaluable for building bridges with someone you can re-visit as a fourth year doing subIs.

Also, doesn't UCSD have a rad onc division? You can do research with whoever is there and try to get some pubs to slap on the CV. Sometimes at rad onc departments without residents, where people aren't used to attention/interest from students, you get more opportunities to shine than at schools with residents and students present all the time.

In sum: get involved locally, and travel for the summers.