Quantcast

Nocturnist schedule

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

beingandtime

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a medical student who loves IM. I think that it's a great fit for me.

I also do really well at night, and am pretty nocturnal, as a person. I think that I would love to work as a nocturnist. Being able to practice pure medicine, and having the wards at night sound awesome.

That said, I've seen some nocturnist jobs that are 7 on 14 off. Which sounds awesome!
I'm interested in outreach medicine and medical missions. I believe that I will have time to fulfill my interests.

However, I'm a little worried that I don't have a good pulse on the market. My question is, how rare is the 2:1 setup? Is the 7 on 14 off a realistic expectation I can have coming out of IM residency?

I'm a single guy, and am willing to move wherever. I don't mind wherever, so long as I can have a block of time off. Also, I would take other things, like census, procedures, resident support, and cross coverage as secondary considerations.

Thank you very much for helping me out!

bananas85

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Nocturnist are in pretty high demand, cause no one wants to do night. Also they have to be in the hospital for the whole 12 hours, as opposed to a morning attending that can leave once he is done with rounding (depending on how admissions are set up).

Given the mismatch with supply and demand, you can pretty much bargain whatever you want. I am sure you wont have a hard time finding 7 on 14 off. However the salary will be lower cause you are working less than full time with that schedule. Off top of my head that is 0.6 of regular full time.

chessknt

10+ Year Member
    Reaction score