non anesthesia applicants for ACGME pain fellowship

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AndyDufrane

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
so I have been asked by a junior resident from the PMR program I graduated from about whether to apply for ACGME Pain or non-ACGME Interventional spine fellowship, I went the non-ACGME route, so I gave the pros n cons about that, but I did warn him, some ACGME pain programs are more accommodating for non-anesthesia pain fellows, others might not and expect you to take anesthesia call, anyone have a list of truly multidisciplinary ACGME pain fellowships that are better geared for non anesthesia folks.

Members don't see this ad.

i have heard that northwestern, stanford, and davis more are more "inter-disciplinary"

how does someone w/o anesthesiology training cover call?

i have heard that northwestern, stanford, and davis more are more "inter-disciplinary"

how does someone w/o anesthesiology training cover call?

The same way PMR, neuro and psych do. A Pain program should have the fellows taking Pain call, not general anesthesia call, any more than the anesthesia/pain fellows should be taking general PMR call in Pain fellowship.

"Acute pain" call is relevant, but that's easy to learn for someone who's non-anesthesia.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)
See the stickied thread at the top of the PM&R forum:

Its a few years old....but...cut and pasted from that list:

Some traditionally anesthesia run pain fellowships that have taken PM&R in the past:
Oregon
UPenn
Jefferson
Penn State
Beth Israel in NYC
Harvard - both Mass General and Brigham
MD Anderson
UTSW
UC Irvine
Loma Linda
Stanford
Michigan State
Loyola
Univ. of Chicago
I think UCSD??
Cook County
Robert Wood Johnson
Hopkins
Cleveland Clinic
Univ of Pittsburgh
UVA
Univ of Washington
St. Vincents in NYC
Univ of Iowa

PM&R based or strong PM&R presence ACGME accredited pain fellowships:
UCLA
U Colorado