Non optometry background

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

lakewood

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
HYPOTHETICALLY

If: I was a graduate with a BS in psychology, GPA 3.55, no biology or chem courses taken (but I have calc, english, and one 4-credit physics course), and I had not yet taken OAT

Then: How would you recommend I spend the next year?

I plan to fulfill the pre-req's at a local community college.

Should I apply this fall, or wait a year until after I have completed the other prereq's at the local community college?
What is the latest I should take the OAT for applying this fall?

Do optometry programs accept students to start in the winter semester?

Members don't see this ad.

I would say complete the pre-requisites first. As I am to believe, I don't think you are even considered unless you finish the pre-requisites in a given time period. But, you should contact the schools themselves and ask them personally. Some may consider you as long as you finish them before you start school the next year. As far as I know, your GPA is competitive and it doesn't really matter what undergraduate degree you got.

i would look into what prereqs the schools you are looking at need. i find it kinda hard to believe its even possible to get through all the physics, chem, bio stuff that you need in one year. you dont have to finish all the prereqs before applying but there is really no way that any school is going to give you an interview before you have any grades from any bio/chem classes. there is no such thing as getting admitted winter quarter since pretty much all schools work in a very specific way with having classes only once per year....